I love gardening but I travel a lot for my work so I only grow edible plants that don’t require much maintenance. And lemongrass fit in this category.

Some of my favourite recipes require lemongrass.  I can buy lemongrass in supermarkets or Asian grocery shop, but I love fresh ingredients and gardening so I thought I should try to grow lemongrass.

Last year I grew them from seeds but it takes lots of effort to germinate them and multiple efforts.  I finally managed to germinate 3 seedlings which I then moved to a bigger pot.  They grew really well and I managed to get around 10 lemongrass out of them. I then made a mistake leaving  them outside in winter. 

So I need to start again but not keen growing them from seed again.  So this year I bought some roots from an asian shop : 5 for £0.70.

I removed the outer layer (older layer) and cut the bottom of the root.

image

Then put them in a jar or glass of water for 2 weeks in a sunny area and voilà…  roots are appearing.

image

Now I just need to trim the top and put them in a pot of soil.  I suggest to grow them in a pot so that you can move them indoors when it gets too cold.